Skip to content

Dakar Rally 2012

January 13, 2012
The 2012 Dakar Rally is the 33rd running of the event. Most events since the inception of the rally in 1978, were from Paris, France, to Dakar, Senegal. It is held in South America for the fourth successive time. The course will later cross the provinces of La Pampa, Mendoza, San Juan, La Rioja and Catamarca before crossing to Chile and finally ending in Peru.

The course, however, changed because of security reasons and this is the fourth consecutive year during which the race is being held in South America.In the past three years, the race consisted of loop courses from Buenos Aires to Chile and back to Buenos Aires. This year the race began in Argentina, passing through Chile and will finish in Lima, Peru, on 15th January 2012.

A biker competes during the 11th stage of the fourth South American edition of the Dakar Rally 2012

France’s Stephane Peterhansel and co-pilot Jean-Paul Cottret drive their Mini Monster

Argentina’s Eduardo Alan falls with his Yamaha

Norway’s Pal Ullevalseter rides his KTM
Qatar’s Nasser Saleh Al-Attiyah and co-pilot Lucas Cruz of Spain, driving their Hummer, overtake Russia’s Leonid Novitskiy and co-pilot Andreas Schulz of Germany in their Mini Monster

Mitsubishi’s driver Bernhar Ten Brinke from Netherlands and co-driver Matthieu Baumel from France

Toyota’s co-driver Dirk Von Zitzewitz, from Germany, pushes his car as driver Giniel De Villiers, from South Africa

Hummer’s driver Robby Gordon and co-driver Johnny Campbell both from the U.S

From → cars, dakar, rally, sports

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: